Best aperture sight for 336

dvdcrr

Been looking at the Marlin 336 30-30. I am interested in learning more about the best options for available aperture rear sight, and front post or fiber optic front post for hunting. I have seen a marbles tang sight, and several models of Williams. I am a complete novice to these sights, and would like to know what people are using that works the best.

PetahW

Since they all pretty much work just fine, you have choices..........

All of the side-mounted receiver peep sights like Williams 5D-336 or FP-336, the Lyman, etc will usually zero using the issue height front sight - as will the William's pair made for top-mounting on Marlins that are not prepped (2 D/T holes) on the upper rear LH receiver wall.

OTOH, all other top-mounted receiver peep sights (Skinner, Williams WGRS, XS, etc), because they have a higher line-of-sight than side mounts, will also require a new front sight blade that's at least 1/10" higher than the issue front sight, in order to zero the rifle.

With whatever receiver peep sight, though, don't forget to remove the rear bbl open/iron sight (for a clean sight picture) & replace it with a dovertail filler blank, bought or made.

A 3rd choice, however, would be to switch out your rifle's rear bbl open sight for a folder, and mount a tang peep sight, thereby allowing you two different zeroes: a short range zero for the bbl sights, and a longer range zero for the tanger. (It's E-Z to hunt the bbl sight, then switch to the tanger for a long shot)

Last edited:

dvdcrr

Wow thanks for the information I am wondering are those aftermarket front sigh are those aftermarket front sight posts do people do people like the fiber optic

PetahW

YMMV - I long ago switched to FO front sights for all my sighted hunting rifles.