Best Ammo for Ruger 10/22 and Whats up with Hi Cap Mags?

Jamie Young

Whats the best ammo for Semi Auto guns? I see in My Manual it says not to use Stingers for this gun. What other good ammo is there? How many rounds can you put threw one of these things before they start to Jam up? I have little experience with these guns so tell me all the do's and don'ts.

What about the Magazines for these guns. I've seen 30rd clear Mags at Dick's Sporting goods. Can I get RELIABLE mags with more than a 10rd capacity without spending $75.

DAVID NANCARROW

Guess I'd better look at the manual, because the Stingers are the most accurate and reliable rounds I have fired through my latest 10/22 Sporter. Have had 3 of them in the last 25 years, and the last two of them would group best with CCI mini-mags, but seemed to function well with just about anything I put in them. I sold the last two because I got offers from friends who liked them a lot after I got them running the way I wanted and couldn't resist. This one is the first sporter I have ever had, and its going in the casket with me:D . It is a bit more finicky than the last two, and doesn't much like standard velocity LR's. Makes me wonder if I need a recoil spring replacement. The rounds fire okay, but the ejection is not very strong, and when it gets really dirty (200 rounds +/-), it ties up the empty with the next round in the mag.
I would recommend you buy some from W-W, Federal, Remington, CCI and maybe a few others and see which groups best. By the way, Stingers in my 10/22 group 4" higher than standard velocity ammo and the groups are tighter. If there is an issue with Stingers, it may be banging the back of the bolt against the crossbolt at the rear of the receiver.

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam
I tried a goodly bunch of different brands and types in my 10/22 and found that the QuikShok gave the tightest groups.

Seems like everybody's 10/22 is different, though.

Art

Master Blaster