Best all around powder for pistols?

cpaspr

I know, I know. I just opened a can of worms. Big time.

But I'm just getting into pistol reloading, though I've had some of my gear for nearly 20 years (loaded up some deer loads for my rifles, but haven't shot all of them up yet).

Anyway, I want to reload for:
.357 mag/.38 special - S&W Model 66-2, 4"
.380 ACP - Sig P232
.40 S&W - Sig P239
.45 ACP - Ruger P90

I have about half a can of Unique left after loading up some .45ACP, 200 gr. LSWC on a friend's progressive. Is Unique a clean, fast-burning powder? Barrel lengths I'm working with are 3.6" (both Sigs) up to 4.5" (Ruger).

My dad used to use Bullseye for .38s years ago, with a 173 gr bullet. 3.6 grains, I think.

Anyway, I don't want to load up on lots of different brands of powder if I can find one that will work WELL for all 5 calibers I'll be loading for.

Thanks in advance.

rem33

I use Unique for several calibers but then I bought up quite a bit a few years ago. If I were you I think i would do some reading and checking reloading manuals as there is some newer powders out there.

cpaspr

I will,

but the manuals don't really point out which are clean, which are fast burning, etc.

They mainly seem to be a guide as to how much to use with which bullet weight to achieve whatever speed.

Jim Watson

Unique is not clean, even in the "improved formula" compared to newer flavor powders but it is very versatile and will serve your calibers as well as any single powder can. So clean the guns.

I think you list too wide a range of calibers to be served fully with one powder. Read the manuals.

gb_in_ga

Unique/Universal (which are very similar) are pretty well -- universal. I've heard that they don't work all that well in .380 ACP, and while I've not had bad results using Universal in .38 Spl I have noticed that I do get unburnt powder when loading light to moderate loads with it in that caliber, and lots of muzzle flash when loading .38 Spl +P.