Votes: 49 39.5%

Votes: 4 3.2%

Votes: 8 6.5%

Votes: 5 4.0%
  • Other (please specify)

Votes: 7 5.6%

• Total voters

FratBoyTX

I do not yet own a rifle, but would like to get one sooner as opposed to later. What calibre would you recomend? Uses: hunting (deer mostly) and plinking.

Thanks.
CFB

Note: I am new to rifles (except .22LR), and do not know very much about them.

WilderBill

The one you've got is the best you have.
Otherwise you might ant to specify best for what.
.22 best for cheap all day shootin', but I wouldn't hunt anything much bigger than a mouse with it.
30.06 is real fine , but not cheap.
All Magnums are cool in a bigger is better sort of way, but often are more than you really need.

C.R.Sam

Never be without a .22.

One rifle and one caliber for all the rest, I vote for the .308. More than adequate for hunting man and beast. Surplus ammo is cheap. Easy to reload for special purpose such as target, hunting, or whatever. Great plinker.

Sam

labgrade

Member In Memoriam
For "Uses: hunting (deer mostly) and plinking."

I voted for the .308 'cause it'll do both very well. Will most certainly do any deer (elk & moose are technically "deer"), ammo's cheap & if you'd care to get into reloading, bullet variety is superb in the .30 cal & casting provides all kinds of way cheap downloading fun.

(& never be w/o a .22LR)

Marko Kloos

I vote for the .308 for the reasons already mentioned. Powerful enough to do the job on everything that walks on this continent, plenty of surplus ammo around for cheap plinking, very versatile due to the many bullets available, and easy to reload.

grimel

Something in 7mm. My favorite is the 7mm Rem Mag. But I bought my mother a 7x57 mauser. In your case a 7x57 or 7mm-08, .284 Win, or .280 Rem. If you are going to reload (and I do recommend it, you just get to shoot more) it would be hard to beat a 7x57 or 7mm-08 for deer.

My other choice if coyotes and varmits were high on the list a .243 Win or 6mm Rem.