Bergara Rifles

Savagehawg

Looking for a new rifle, this will be my primary hunting rifle as i just gave my old one to my son. I have been looking at the Bergara B-14 series in 7mm Rem Mag and the Tikka3x Hunter. I am not interested in an entry level rifle, i prefer wood over synthetic as this will be handed down to my son eventually. I have some experience with Tikka but none with Bergara but really like the feel of the Bergara. Does anyone here have any experience with Bergara as far as dependability and accuracy and i will be hand loading as i do for all my rifles.

Thanks

jmr40

I've had 2 Bergara's. Sold them both. Currently have 4 Tikka's. I don't dislike the Bergara rifles. If conventional styling is important to you, you could do worse. One of my Bergara's was very accurate, the other borderline acceptable. But I wasn't looking for acceptable. I've got to believe that was an anomaly because by all accounts they tend to be very accurate.

Tikka is more functional and less aesthetically pleasing, which is more important to me. Overall I've never seen a Tikka that wasn't above average accuracy wise, but lots of people don't like detachable mags and the styling.

I don't think either would qualify as an heirloom rifle to pass down to my son, even the wood stocked versions. Both are working guns with very different styling.

I don't see many of either with wood stocks, but they do make some; all of mine have been synthetic. You might want to actually handle a wood stocked Bergara before you decide. If you order one without handling it first you may not like it. They LOOK good, but are a little thicker and chunkier than many like. Their synthetic stocks are trimmer.

stagpanther