Benelli M1 recoil?

mvdemarco

Could you compare the recoil of a Benelli M1 to the recoil of a Mossberg 590 using the same loads? I've heard mixed opinion on this matter and I need some advice from the people who know! LOL!

Thanks,

Mike

DML

I'm not sure if the recoil energy is different from the Mossberg, but most people, including me, find the Benelli's recoil sharper and somewhat unpleasant.

It's not the weight difference. If you check the specs, you will find that Mossbergs, Remington 870s and Benellis weight pretty much the same. The Benelli M1 S90 weighs 6.7 to 7 lbs. The 590 weighs 6.75 to 7 lbs. The 870 Express weighs 7.25 lbs. These figures are from their websites.

FPrice

I have no first-hand knowledge but I will pass on what my dealer reported. He is carrying both the Benelli M1 and the Beretta 1201FP for sale. He fired both (about 90-100 rds the first time out) and felt that it was an easy gun to fire. He did not find the recoil bad at all.

Al Thompson

Staff Alumnus
The problem with judging recoil is that it's a personal issue. I find that stock fit can increase/decrease what an individual thinks - and it depends on the individual.

For instance, when I wanted an OU, I tried many different Sgs. With several of the european brands, I had trouble with low combs. I have high cheeck bones and find that SGs that force me to really put my head down tend to bruise my face. Same loads in all guns, different stock fits.

Another concern is the "footprint" that the butt plate has - if it's large - less percieved recoil, small - more "felt" recoil. My original 870 came with a Remington folding stock. Very painfull to fire. I replaced it with a "junk bin" wooden stock and the gun became eaiser to fire. No difference other than a bigger footprint on the butt plate.

In terms of my perceptions, the two M1S90s that I owned tended to kick very much like an 870. I have not fired a Mossberg 590 series, but I would imagine most pumps kick about the same.

HTH