beding a mannlicher stock

scouter27

i recently picked up a m77 mk1 rsi in '06. is there any way to get the stock bedded? could i do it myself? i have some experience with resins, so i think im up for it if its like doing a regular stock.

otherwise, anyone out there make a nice synthetic or maybe laminate stock with the full handguard?

ogree

Usually, mannlicher stocks affect accuracy due to the muzzle cap contacting the barrel therby creating a pressure point when it gets warm from firing the weapon. Although I have always liked the look of these stocks, they are not my choice when it comes to accurizing a rifle cause of the problems with barrel contact. That is why a person beds a rifle in the first place.......accuracy.
It is not impossible though to achieve an accurate rifle with a mannlicher stock, it just requires a lot more work and attetion to some details.
You would start by bedding the action as normal, after that was done, free float the barrel on out to the fore end cap. The cap would have to be firmly attacked to the stock and the clearance hole for the barrel would have to be opened up as to prevent it from contacting the barrel. I've seen some mannlicher stocked rifles that have wood on top of the barrels as well and these would have to be attached to the stock as well and yet be removable in order to allow for dis-assembly. they would also have to be modified so no contact with the barrel was present, the stock, out near the muzzle will end up quite thin and will flex under pressure when using a bench rest due to the weight of the rifle so this will have to be taken into account when determining the amount of gap when floating the barrel as will any downward pressure applied to the fore end via the use of a sling.