Barrel twist rate effect on speed?

Deja vu

Lets say I have 2 identical barrels (I know this is not possible). But one barrel is a slow twist (say 1 in 20) and the other is fast twists (say 1 in 10). Which barrel should shoot faster?

What effect on accuracy will a twist rate too fast have? Such as a bulet that is ideal at 1-15" going through a 1-10" barrel?

Just trying to come up with some ideas.

Last edited:

CarJunkieLS1

My feelings would be that given everything the the exact same, which we all know isn't possible, is that the slower twist will have a higher velocity because it will take less friction to push that bullet down the barrel.

This is my theory and I'm no expert so its my $.02. I'm sure there is some one that has the answer with the science to know the answer.

PewPewPachew

The barrel with a slower twist rate should be capable of more velocity, as it has less resistance for the bullet as it travels down the bore. The opposite is true for a faster twist rate.

*Edit* It may be pertinent to point out "progressive" or "gain" twist barrels. These have a slower twist at the throat, and gradually get faster towards the muzzle. The theory is that you will have lower pressure and resistance in the beginning, potentially increasing velocity, and decreasing throat erosion. By the time the bullet exits the muzzle, it should have been spun up to the proper speed by the rifling at that end.

I have never personally had an issue with shooting a bullet that was too heavy for the twist I was using, as I never really pushed too far beyond recommended weights. Some barrel and load combos also seem to work, that shouldn't have.

However, I have loaded bullets designed for a lower twist rate and/or velocity for rifles with higher twist rates. Particularly the .224 flavor. I had a 22-250, with the older, slower 1:14" twist. It loved 40 and 50 gr pills.