Barnes TTSX

olddav

I've been reloading for a few years using mostly Hornady and Sierra bullets and am happy with them for the most part. Resently I stumbled upon a couple of boxes of Barnes 160gr TTSX bullets for my 338-06, after recovering from sticker shock I decided to give them a try. I started at the min and loaded 26 bullets for a ladder test in .2 grain increments stopping at the published max. I also used the COL that Barnes listed for this bullet.
Now for the interesting part. While loading these 26 rounds I checked the COL as I went. All cartridges measured with in a .001" of the first one loaded, Hornady on the other hand has been all over the map. I haven't finished my load development yet but I have high hopes for these bullets. Can't help be think that consistency like that should translate to smaller groups, but as usual I could be wrong.

jmr40

When I started loading TTSX's I was advised to go light, seat them deep and shoot them fast. That has worked for me. I found the best accuracy with them seated so that the groove closest to the tip was just exposed in my 308 shooting 130's @ 3050 fps. From what I've read others are getting the best accuracy using that as a guide. Or at least as deep as the powder will allow.

Cost is high, they are not plinking bullets. But for a hunting only bullet it isn't too bad. I figured that the savings of buying 200 Hornady Interlokts over 200 Barnes TTSX's wouldn't pay for a tank of gas for my truck. 200 bullets would last me 2-3 years for load development, zeroing, a little practice and hunting. The cost of 1 tank of gas every 2-3 years is nothing compared to all other hunting expenses. Of course that was when gas was $3/gal. I guess I could pay for 2 tanks today, but that isn't too bad spread over 2-3 years.

Savage99

I have been handloading, competitive shooting, hunting and testing rifles for over 60 years.

I started with Sierra and later the others.