Back in after 20 years...

bdc2020

Hi All-
My first post here. I'm trying to find some good gun boards to learn more.

A little intro: I started shooting with my father about 22+ years ago. We used to go to the range all the time after he got off work. Friends would bring their firearms and everyone would share. :)

Time moved on, left for school, married, kids, etc. Never forgot about it but didn't feel it was the right time. Finally, I could put the thought off no further and took a basic firearms course and range safety course since it had been so long.

Bought my first handgun last week. I went in thinking a 9mm again would be my choice (in the past I have shot a .22, .357, 9mm, 10mm, .45, and a few others) but ended up leaving with a .40 cal. police trade in Glock 22 Gen 2.

It came with 2 magazines, but I bought a 3rd (used as well), a basic holster, and 300 rounds of ammo. I also really liked the feel of the aftermarket grip (can't recall the name) which you can see in the picture.

I feel it was a great choice and hope I enjoy it (going to the range tomorrow).

yIkHG.jpg

TheNocturnus

Welcome back. Don't forget to get a cleaning kit, hearing and eye protection.

I think you will like that glock. They are fun to shoot.

Amin Parker

Welcome to TheFiringLine and welcome back to shooting. You are at the right place, here you will meet great people with tons of knowledge.

Congratulations on your purchase. The Glock 22 is a very good weapon that will serve you well, im sure more handguns will be following shortly.

You mention your pistol is a Gen2, are you sure about this? I hope im wrong but it looks like a Gen1. They are equally good, i just wanna make sure.

Unistat76

I would say it's a Gen 2 because it has 3 pins (2 above the trigger 1 on the backstrap) and the checkering on the front of the trigger guard. Your grip sleeve is from Hogue, I have one on my G23.

bdc2020

Ah yes, Hogue grip. Thank you.