Back carry holster opinions

redlightrich

Hello all, does anyone carry IWB in the small of their back? Can you explain any benefits or drawbacks?

I find it the most comfortable, and easiest to retrieve it when drawing palm out, but being I am in a state that doesn't permit concealed carry ( I am planning to move to a free state soon) I have no real experience.

Input is welcome

Thank you

Rich

shurshot

I had a SOB Bianchi decades ago for a Springfield .45 for awhile. Sitting in a car was uncomfortable. I soon sold the holster.

Sharkbite

Its a niche carry position at best.

Conceals well standing under a coat, is about its only advantage.

Hard to access when seated in a car.
Slow to draw from even when standing. You must move the gun thru 180 degrees to bring it to target
If you fall/get knocked onto your back it going to hurt you
Impossible weapons retention position.

Lots of downsides...not many upsides.

MandolinMan

As Paul Harrell said in the video linked below:

"I would advise you, do not carry your gun in something called the SOB position. What good could come from something called the SOB position?"
https://youtu.be/mfGKUg9yCBU

On a serious note, I think that there's a number of significant disadvantages to carrying small of back. It seems to have fallen out of favor with many serious firearms instructors for many reasons including:

-- Risk of spinal injury
-- Poor retention/ risk of having your gun snatched
-- Slower to deploy
-- Less accessible

The video linked above is really good definitely give it a watch.

redlightrich

Thank you all. My biggest fear is being I don't have eyes behind my head, the risk of having it snatched is real.

I can draw it very comfortably, but the drawbacks are real, and probably negate any value it may provide me......

The search continues

Thank you for your input

Rich

TailGator