Auto Ordinance M1 Carbine Problem

Dog Confetti

Bought a new Auto Ordinance (Kahr) M1 Carbine about 10 months ago. I had problems from the start...failures to fire about %50 of the time. After finally tearing it apart, looking at how everything fits together, and taking it back to the range I've come to a conclusion...the firing pin appears to be too short. It's a free floating firing pin (no spring) and I tested this on the range by tilting the weapon up (firing pin falls to the rear) and it fires %100 of the time, then tilting the rifle forwards (pin rests against the primer) and if fails to fire %100 of the time (no mark on the primer). Has anyone else run into this? Does Auto Ordinance use mil-spec parts? Their warranty is only 1 year, and I've been dragging ass on this problem (also, their service dept e-mail was a dead address)...I also don't want to send the whole thing back if I don't have to...any experience?

blume357

Even though I've had no experience with them, I would expect

Auto ordinace to take care of the problem regardless of 12 months or what ever.... A phone call is often the best way to start. But then you might want to try cleaning the firing pin and parts... very slight oil and possibly polishing it a little.

Dog Confetti

The firing pin moves freely...there's nothing obstucting it (I can hear it slide forwards and back when I tilt the weapon). The problem is when it is forwards, against the primer, it doesn't extend out the rear of the bolt far enought for the hammer to hit it.

I've been using Aguila, but it's not the ammo...when it fails to fire there is no mark left on the primer.

Threefeathers

I'd say it is probably the firing pin. The problem with these carbines is that militay parts often don't fit. That said I've had good luck with Auto-Ord in the past. Having a spare firing pin isn't a bad idea anyway.

44 AMP

Staff
You bought a new gun....