Armscor Ammo-Any Good?

BarkeyVA

I have an opportunity to buy some Armscor .38 Special ammo mostly for target practice at a very good price. I've never used it. Is it any good?

couldbeanyone

I have no experience with armscor centerfire ammo, but as no one has replied, I guess I will share my experience with their rimfire ammo. I got 500 rounds of armscor 22lr ammo cheap. It all went bang, but was very dirty and not very accurate. It didn't seem to unduly lead my barrel. Thats about all I got. Maybe someone else will chime in soon.

BarkeyVA

Just checked the specs for Armscor and Federal American Eagle .38 Special FMJ ammo. The Federal ammo is about $1.00/box more.

Armscor 125 gr. 1875 fps muzzle velocity, 984 ft. lb. muzzle energy

American Eagle: 130 gr. 950 fps muzzle velocity, 250 ft. lb. muzzle energy

I have a recently acquired GP-100 revolver and am a new handgun shooter. Using the ammo for target practice, it seems to me that the Armscor, being a lot hotter would have significantly more recoil than the American Eagle Ammo. Any comments?

Webleymkv

Just checked the specs for Armscor and Federal American Eagle .38 Special FMJ ammo. The Federal ammo is about $1.00/box more.

Armscor 125 gr. 1875 fps muzzle velocity, 984 ft. lb. muzzle energy

American Eagle: 130 gr. 950 fps muzzle velocity, 250 ft. lb. muzzle energy

I'm afraid you've got your specs mixed up. While your figures for Federal are correct, the velocity you list for Armscor is for their .357 Magnum ammo, not their .38 Special. Armscor 125grn .38's are listed at 1050fps velocity for 306 ft.lbs of energy from a 4" barrel (the same length as Federal)

http://www.armscor.com.ph/centerfire_pistol.htm

Also, it is worth of note that while most U.S manufacturers list their .357 Magnum velocities from a 4" barrel, Armscor lists theirs from a 10" barrel.