Are you still having fun ???

Pahoo

On my progression through this leaning curve called muzzleloaders, I have found that there are folks who just want to load, shoot and have fun. Then there are those idea of fun, is to nitpick every aspect of this Great Adventure. Nothing wrong with that as that is just the way we are. I was introduced to M/L's by a three families of BuckSkinners, back in the early 80's. The Tipis were up, campfire burning and fresh coffee. Then we started filling the valley with BP smoke and thunder. Still can't get the smell of sulfur out of my sinuses. ..... :D

Then I started shooting competition and life was no longer simple and the fun-factor took a back seat. I once shot with a fella who was not happy until he shot a 1" group at 100yds. He wrote articles for a number of magazines. I once asked him if he was having fun and he responded with indifference. ... :rolleyes:

1) pure lead RB's are very forgiving and will shoot well if not perfectly round. Can't say that about Conicals and Sabotted rounds.

2) BP and most of it's replacements are also very forgiving and a few grains off, makes little difference.

3) One does not have to reinvent a good patch-lube just have to make sure it's consistent, even if it's your own spit.

So personally, the more I dissect this great adventure, the less fun, I have. :cool:

Have fun and;
Be Safe !!!

maillemaker

You never want to get lost in the gears so you lose the wonder of the machine.

I can relate because I have always been "cookie" oriented. I want to win the cookie. I don't undertake tasks if I'm not good at them.

Fortunately for me I've always done well at N-SSA competition. I've taken medals at every skirmish I've gone to over the last 3-4 years. I don't think I'm that great - it's just that most everyone else is so old their eyes are shot.