Are small magnum pistol primers harder than small pistol primers?

Tennessee Jed

I've been handloading 357 magnum for a couple of years now. I just recently noticed that the recipes I got from Accurate Arms for AA9 in 357 mag called for magnum small pistol primers, and I'd been using small pistol primers.

So over the weekend I fired 50 of the old rounds with small pistol primers, and had no issues. I then fired 50 rounds that had the magnum small pistol primers and had about 3 misfires. The gun was a GP100 that's never misfired before. I previously used CCI small pistol primers (#500), and on this batch started using the CCI magnum small pistol primers (#550).

It's not a huge thing, and the rounds fired on a second try, but I HATE hearing a click when expecting a bang. The only thing I can figure is that the 550's are harder than the 500's. Is it possible that the 550's are harder?

It is possible the magnum primers are harder. It is also possible the primers were not fully seated as well. I normally use Federal or Tula magnum primers in my .357 loads with AA7 powder. It doesn't call for a magnum primer with the load data I used. I suggest making certain all the primers are fully seated and try another 50 to see if that may have been the problem. The only time I can see needing a magnum primer in .357 is very cold weather or using H110 or Winchester 296 powder. Possibly HS-6 and HS-7 as well. Accurate's data does list a magnum primer with AA powders but Spear only notes it for a few powders. I sure other referrences will vary too.

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus
It's not a huge thing, and the rounds fired on a second try, but I HATE hearing a click when expecting a bang. The only thing I can figure is that the 550's are harder than the 500's. Is it possible that the 550's are harder?

CCI Magnum pistol primers are reportedly identical to their small rile primers in every respect. The cup is slightly thicker than the small pistol, by about 0.005 IIRC.