Are shooters "uneducated rednecks"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

brianidaho

I don't mean to start a war by this topic! My impression is that far too many of the general public and especially the media has a low impression of the intelligence of the average gun owner/sports shooter/ccw holder, etc. My experience has typically been the opposite, most shooters I have talked with have a better than average education and speak in an intelligent manner (for lack of a better way of putting it). Of course my interperation may be biased :)

I'd assume the firing line readers are a pretty good cross section of backgrounds, and was wondering if anyone would care to share their professions/education/whatever. This is a matter of personal curiosity only, and granted is really none of my or anyone else’s business. If there are strong feelings say so and I'll request that a moderator delete this post.

For myself, I'm a design engineer, graduated from General Motors Institute with BSME in 1985. Born and raised in a small town outside of Buffalo, NY, I corrected that birth defect in '94 with a move to northern Idaho.

Dangus

I married all three of mah sisters and sometimes the sheeps looks purty, but ain't nobody gonna be callin me a redneck if'n they knows whats good for em!

------------------
The Alcove

I twist the facts until they tell the truth. -Some intellectual sadist

The Bill of Rights is a document of brilliance, a document of wisdom, and it is the ultimate law, spoken or not, for the very concept of a society that holds liberty above the desire for ever greater power. -Me

BrokenArrow

Most of the gun club members in the private clubs I have belonged to over the yrs were above avg in education and/or income.

I think a survey of NRA members showed the same a few yrs ago.

OTOH, most of the hunting camps I've been around growing up back east, most of the shooters at public ranges were just avg guys.