AR15 Questions?

roc1

I am new to AR type rifles and would like some good info before buying.
1. Is the standard 223 ok or do you need to make sure it will shoot the NATO round which the M16 shot which is hotter?
2.Are they or can they be as accurate as a bolt gun?
3. I would use it for target and if good enough varmint hunt if it is accurate.
4. I guess it will shoot varmint type reloads like Hornady VMAX bullets polymer tipped?
5.I guess the 20" barrel would be overall the best for this dual purpose?
6. Are the Bushmasters DPMS and S&W pretty equal in quality or is their one a lot better?
7 My gunshop has rifles from $720-$1020 I guess this is average price for the brands I mentioned?
8.Is a scope a good thing on these guns?
9. I guess last what do most of you fellows use them for just for fun or actually hunt ?
Thanks sorry I had so many questions,just do not know much about them?
roc1

TexasSIGMan

Wow, lots of questions there :)
All my opinions, you'll likely get 20 others.....

1. Is the standard 223 ok or do you need to make sure it will shoot the NATO round which the M16 shot which is hotter?

The barrel will be marked, nearly all of them are OK for the NATO 5.56.
It's rare to find an AR chambered for .223 only.
Some have Wylde chambers which is sort of an in between (and a topic all to itself)

2.Are they or can they be as accurate as a bolt gun?

They can be, if you spend enough (money and time)

3. I would use it for target and if good enough varmint hunt if it is accurate.

Many coyotes have fallen to my ARs

4. I guess it will shoot varmint type reloads like Hornady VMAX bullets polymer tipped?

Depending on bullet weight and barrel twist rate mainly.
Mine shoot 72gr bullets very well.

5.I guess the 20" barrel would be overall the best for this dual purpose?

I suppose though my longest is only 16"

6. Are the Bushmasters DPMS and S&W pretty equal in quality or is their one a lot better?