AR15 Is One With A Gas Piston Cooler, Cleaner,Or not Needed

azredhawk44

I am not serving, but I have been testing my AR for the last 8 months without cleaning it.

I predominantly shoot either .22LR or .308 through my M14, but I've put about 600 rounds through my AR-15 in that time frame.

Never even added oil or cracked the upper off the lower. Warm it up with 50-100 rounds, some done fairly rapidly and some done slowfire, let the new grit mix in with the old grit and old oil.

No failures at all.

I've predominantly shot handloads using a stick powder (IMR4895) which tends to burn cleaner than the military specified ball double-base powder.

About 200 rounds were Prvi Partizan ammo though, and I have no idea what powder they used.

I finally decided to clean it since I'm installing a free-floated handguard. The BCG was absolutely filthy, but it still worked. The barrel and chamber were just lightly coated with powder-soot. They cleaned right up with no effort at all.

Not scientific and merely anecdotal... but it has convinced me that the AR is not quite so fragile a system as some critics make it out to be.

Technosavant

A piston introduces certain other potential problems (carrier tilt and buffer tube wear). Not deal-killers, but it doesn't take a rifle that's nothing but trouble and turn it into nothing but wine and roses.

Personally, I don't see the point of a piston system on an AR unless you're going to suppress it, and even then I don't know if it's all that huge a help. I guess I'll find this out myself in a few months when the paperwork comes through, but I'd still really only expect it to be a real problem if you're firing hundreds of suppressed rounds at a time. Even then, it only takes a few minutes to break down the BCG and clean it out.

GLK

As to needed or not I can't answer that. But I can tell you that it is by far cleaner and cooler in regards to temps.

Well, what hype have you heard?