AR15, flattop vs. carry handle?

Zak Smith

I am a newbie to AR-15 type rifles, but have been shooting various other conventional rifles for a long time (target 22's, .30-30, .30-06, .270, 7x57, etc, both scoped and iron).

When I look on the Bushmaster web site, I see flat-top and carry-handle versions of the otherwise same rifle setup. Why would someone choose a flat-top vs. carry handle version? What are they designed or meant for?

I understand that the carry handle incorporates basic iron sights, however I have also seen carry-handle models with a scope mounted, so what's the deal?

thanks!

NJW

Typically, you get the flat top when you plan on mounting a scope. The mounts on the carry handels place the scope way to high and they can cause acccuracy problems because they aren't as solid as should be.
I wanted to mount a red dot scope on my M4 top end so I wanted the flat top. I mounted a GG&G scout rail and a flip up iron sight for a back up. Here is my setup, it is a Colt M4 16" upper w/vortec flash hider and an Aimpoint red dot on the GG&G rail w/ back up sight. I usually make the inserted pics smaller but I left it larger so you can see the scope & rail set up. Sorry if causes any problems.

View

NJW in AZ

[This message has been edited by NJW (edited January 29, 2000).]

Zak Smith

NJW - thanks for the info and pic. Does the front sight post interfere with the view?
Can it be removed easily?

I assume there are iron sights can be mounted on a flat-top, correct?

thanks again
Zak

Schmit

Staff Alumnus
Smithz;