AR15 Chamber

torquewrench

I purchased a new AR15 Upper. I took is down and cleaned it.
When I chambered a round, I had a heck of a time pulling the charging handle back to clear the round. It was really stuck.
I am new to ARs.. I have only had bold action rifles. I never had such a time getting an unfired round out of the chamber.
Any advice?

Darren Roberts

When replacing the bolt carrier does it slide in smooth or does it have a spot that consistantly "grabs" when inserting it? I had one from bravo company I had to send back because of a faulty bolt carrier...Not sure how it happened but it was just a hair of measurement.
If it is just stiff it could just need to be used. Oil and clean often.

g.willikers

What did the round look like?
Any indications of the problem on either the bullet or case?
Maybe you have the slightly longer .556 military ammo and your gun has a slightly shorter commercial .223 chamber?

DnPRK

You are experiencing stickiness between the bolt lugs and the companion surfaces of the barrel extension. This is normal. Once the bolt/barrel extension wears in, you won't have a problem extracting chambered rounds.

As an interim solution, put a dab of grease on the back of each bolt lug.

Palmetto-Pride

Whats happening is the bolt is not wanting to rotate and unlock from the chamber, this is normal for new ARs (especially tight ones) when trying to manually pull a round out.

Last edited:

Mobuck

I use grease on my AR bolt lugs/barrel extension and the cam pin. At the very least, grease these parts during the initial firing and breakin. I don't drag my rifles through the sand and dirt so the fact that grease holds grit is not an issue. The grease will stay in place better than liquid and let all the parts get used to one another.