AR sights question

LloydXmas250

Just got my upper and I tweaked my detachable carry handle using RIBZ method so now I can sight in my AR at 100, 50/200, 25/300. However they mention that it's good with the small aperture, not the 0-200 aperture. That got me wondering because I thought the different sizes just meant different target acquisition speeds, not different aiming points. So now I'm confused on how they're different and exactly how I'm supposed to aim with these sights. Sorry for the dumb question, I'm just getting into the wonderful world of ARs.

Quentin2

The RIBZ (or the IBZ) are excellent schemes to quickly adjust the sights for targets closer than 300 meters - just by cranking down the elevation knob a few clicks below 8/3 or 6/3. And as you said you must use the smaller aperture.

The large aperture is used for close in shooting or low light. To use it, put the elevation knob back to 6/3 or 8/3 and flip to the large aperture. Instead of a 300 meter zero you now have a rougher 100-200 zero and can use it much closer in than that. We're not talking great accuracy here but at least you shouldn't be shooting high like you would with the small aperture and 6/3 or 8/3. That's mainly what it's for, to keep you from shooting high. Of course the RIBZ takes care of that (and with more accuracy) by clicking below 6/3 or 8/3 without having to change from the small aperture.

Flip from both apertures and you'll notice that they are at different heights.

LloydXmas250

I guess my question is this: I have mostly shot iron sights with V notches so I align the front sight with the top of the V. However with this sight you get a circle with a front sight. Where do I put that front sight? Right in the middle I'm guessing but I'm just wanting to know for sure.

Quentin2

Yes, the tip of the front sight right in the middle of the aperture. And of course lined up on the center of your target. Try this out at different distances and test out Molon's RIBZ!

LloydXmas250