AR lower receiver

Geezerbiker

I'm a complete neophyte when it comes to AR's but I'm thinking of jumping in with both feet and building an AR.

Stripped lowers start around 50 bucks and go up to crazy expensive from there. So how do I know what's good or good enough or should I hold out for something more expensive?

Next question, how hard is it to put in all the little pieces? I was a motorcycle mechanic for 20+ years and 20 valve 4 cylinder engines don't intimidate me but this is way out of my experience circle...

Tony

FrankenMauser

Just about any forged aluminum lower is plenty good.

When it comes to polymers, carbon fiber, and other 'alternative' materials, it's a different story. Some are good. Some are bad. Most are mediocre. Many require fitting and fiddling to get them to work.

Forged aluminum is the safest bet.

If you can rebuild an engine, you can [easily] assemble an AR.
As one of my brothers said earlier this week, after assembling his first two lowers.... "You could do that in your sleep!" ;)

Geezerbiker

I was thinking if fitting parts were necessary like when working on a M1911a1. If it's just a matter of putting it together, that should be easy.

One brand I was looking at was Del-Ton. The best price I've seen so far is for an aluminum lower was an Anderson brand. At this point I don't know squat about either of those brands. What I do know is that stripped AR lowers are all over the place.

I need to know that when I get one, is that it's good out of the box. It might sit around awhile and it would be hard to get it warrantied a year or so after purchase...

Tony

Taco-XL