AR-15 scope

Dirty_Harry

I have a Bushmaster AR-15 with the 5.5 inch Flash Hider.....and the non removable carry handle. I was wondering if anyone else had this rifle and what kind of optics I should mount on it.

My buddy just got an EOTECH and it is awesome, but he has the removable carry handle, and personally I think it would look stupid to put one on top of the carry handle or in front of it. I also thought of an ACOG but they are so fartin $$$$$$.

HELP!

Samuel2001

Dirty_Harry,

You'd be surprised as to how comfortable some of the scopes that are mounted waaaay out there on the handguard really are. I actually have a Bushy with the 16" barrel and the 5.5" flash supressor to make it look like an 11" barrel, and I had the Trijicon Reflex Sight on a cantliever mount that extended over the handguard on it. I find that set up really comfortable and fast, I have since moved it to another upper and I shoot it more often than I do my ACOG scoped AR.

I would'nt rule out that set up before you try it. Find someone who has one, or a local store that has an AR with rails on the handguard and ask to mock up a dot type scope to try, most will accomodate to try and make a sale.

I'll look to see if I have a pic to post, or I'll take one soon to post here.

Good luck.:)

Attachments

• DSC00668.JPG
    DSC00668.JPG
    145.2 KB · Views: 89

LoadIt

Get a new upper?

Have you thought about purchasing a new flattop upper to put on your Bushmaster? DPMS sells them for less than Bushmaster wants. 125 dollars from DPMS. Install the barrel and your other parts and you have a new mounting platform.

Dirty_Harry

I did think about getting a new upper, but most of them are like 500 bucks, granted I have not checked out dpms yet....how are the rock river arms uppers?

fanoblack