Ar-15 M4?

WhyteP38

I'm new to ARs, I plan to get one in about a month, and I've been looking up info in various places, including the Web. One thing I haven't found is a description of what makes an M4 different from other ARs. The search feature of the sites I've visited won't let me search just "M4" because there aren't enough characters.

I had thought the main differences were a collapsible butt stock and a shorter barrel, but I'm now thinking I'm not even close. Can someone tell me what the differences are?

Thanks in advance.

I believe the differences are that true M4's have the notched barrel profile and extended feed ramps. You can get collapsible stocks and short barrels on any configuration.

reils49

Like fs2k was saying, "M4" is the military designation for the shortened version of the M16 rifle, which is currently manufactured for the gov't by Colt. All others are merely knockoffs. If you are looking for a shortened ar-15, try searching for a "ar-15 carbine".

FS2K

Yeah I like that description Dave!

I spell it M4gery but since it is a fake word who care's about spelling?!?! LOL!

I would have mentioned it but didn't want to confuse WhyteP38!

Bill T

This is my wifes Bushmaster Heavy Barreled M-4 Carbine. It doesn't have that useless cut out for the granade launcher. It has the A-1 sights and the old style teardrop foward assist. We got it for a really good price from our local dealer thru Davidsons with a lifetime free replacement warranty. It's a good shooter with all types of ammo. Colt tried to sue Bushmaster for useing the term "M-4", but lost the suit. The court determined "M-4" was a generic term used to describe that type of carbine. The term "M-4" belongs to anyone who wants to use it. It is not the sole property of Colt Firearms, or anyone else for that matter. Bill T.

FS2K

See, now that brings up a question I have been meaning to ask...