AR 10 extraction problem

homesick

I'm kinda new at the AR thing so I need your experience please.
I have a PSA AR 10 which worked fine but it had a Magpul full stock on it. How ever it was very heavy so I had an adjustable stock installed. Today when I shot it would not extract the empty let me rephrase that, it tore the lip off the brass. Brass was stuck in chamber.
Like I said it worked fine earlier

Mobuck

Was the proper buffer and spring replaced in the tube? If it worked fine prior to the change, then the cause must be related to the new parts.

homesick

Because the new stock was a different design the old buffer and spring weren't used. I can only guess this is where the problem is.

stagpanther

The buffer and spring are different in a carbine extension tube. That may be a factor in your jammed case--but it sounds to me you may have had a bad head-spacing of your cartridge. What kind of ammo was fired?

Mobuck

"The buffer and spring are different in a carbine extension tube. That may be a factor in your jammed case--but it sounds to me you may have had a bad head-spacing of your cartridge. What kind of ammo was fired?"

So, how would changing the buffer tube/stock affect the headspace?
OP says "I have a PSA AR 10 which worked fine but it had a Magpul full stock on it."
Tearing the rim off is a whole different symptom vs head space issue. Sounds more like little/no resistance to primary bolt cycling/extraction. I vote for incorrect buffer/spring combination OR assembly.

stagpanther

"The buffer and spring are different in a carbine extension tube. That may be a factor in your jammed case--but it sounds to me you may have had a bad head-spacing of your cartridge. What kind of ammo was fired?"

So, how would changing the buffer tube/stock affect the headspace?
OP says "I have a PSA AR 10 which worked fine but it had a Magpul full stock on it."