Anyone use Shooting Coats?

Crimper-D

For the number of centerfire rifles I shoot, a coat with the proper padding is the difference between fun and PAIN! :eek: I find a shooting jacket provides a level of comfort even when shooting rimfires and benchrest...I have very boney elbows that don't like being dug into dirt or a concrete shooting bench.

You hear about Eye and hearing protection while shooting, but not much about Padding!
Anybody...:confused: ?

shadowkil

Shooting coats are used in highpower competition, but not so much for padding as for stability. In fact, near as I can tell (I just started learning this game last weekend) there isn't really any padding at all in a highpower shooting coat. You have rubber pads at the shoulder and elbows to provide extra friction so that the stock doesn't slip at all on your shoulder and so that your elbows don't slip on the mat in prone or your legs in sitting. It is also tight around the hips and lower back to provide extra support during standing strings. I wouldn't know anything about cushiony coats ;)

Rokchukrslave

Highpower coats have padding on the elbows, left bicep area(for RH shooter), and the shoulders where the butt of the rifle is placed. Mine in particular is a Creedmore, and has 1/4" padding in these areas. The padding on the left bicep/tricep is to not only provide friction for your sling, but to deaden the pulse that can be transfered to your rifle.
As far as shooting comfort, I regularly shoot in 60+ rnd matches with a .308 and I am not sore at all.
They are far too expensive to buy just to go shoot at the range from a bench or the like.

swampyMO

CrimperD,

Padding against recoil is not the issue with the shooting coats & jackets....... damping of your pulse and steadying the hold are their primary purposes.