Anyone use Renaissance Wax on Guns?

rickyrick

Done with the politics for now, I’m not very good at it. Lol.

Anyway, I have some renaissance wax that I use for other projects that are not gun related.
It’s mainly used to help clean and preserve museum pieces consisting of metals non metals and even paintings. It’s relatively expensive but a small amount goes a long ways
I’m wondering if anyone has used it as an exterior protectant on guns. Not talking about using it as a lube, but just on the outside. Should be ok for any finish. What say you, if you know the product in which I am referring too?

Dfariswheel

A number of members on the Colt Forum use Renaissance wax for their collectibles like Pythons and Single Actions.

It gets great reviews, and makes a blued gun really shine as long as the bluing is intact.
It's rather expensive but some people use it on holsters and gun belts.
However, a little goes a long way.

rickyrick

I kinda had an inkling that it would be good on gun finish. Not too concerned about the cost as I already use it in other hobbies.

ballardw

On nicely blued ones like the S&Ws.
Doesn't hurt that Renaissance doesn't pick up fingerprints as easily as plain blue either.

More goes on swords, axes and maces than firearms though...

10-96

I haven't tried the Renaissance, but I've been using regular old Johnsons paste wax for years. Every time I see a mention of the Renaissance, I wonder if I should upgrade, but after a while I realize that if the Johnsons is doing such a good job in my arid area- why bother?

Nathan

I use it on all of my blued guns and fine holsters.....not sure it is better than johnsons

Some interesting reading:

Johnson’s LINK

Renaissance LINK LINK2

BTW, I’m not recommending either, but there is something about the acid in natural wax that the museums don’t like.

Last edited:

reteach

Thinking I'd like to try using that. Any tips on how to apply it to the gun? Does heating it help in application?

OneFreeTexan