Anybody own/use a bore sighter?

SAWBONES

I'm considering purchasing a bore sighter in order to get "on paper" quickly when sighting in scopes at 100 yards.
Brownells offers several types (near lens grid, mirror, laser) and brands, and I have no experience with any of 'em.
I'd be using it for .223 and .308 caliber rifles with 2-10X power scopes.
Anyone on the board with experience-recommendations as to which type of bore sighting equipment to get? Thanks in advance for any replies.

------------------
"Potius sero quam nunquam."

Imbroglio

I have used both the laser type and the type that places the sighting assembly at the muzzle end.

The laser type requires that the beam be centered in the bore. The one that I used worked by placing the laser in the chamber and a laser channeling device in the muzzle. The sighting target has to be placed at least 25 feet away.

Benefits: Can be used in any gun as long as the laser and channeling device can be centered in the bore regardless of scope height. Does not require an offset device.

Drawbacks: Not precisely repeatable if scope is resighted. Requires target to be set up on a wall.

The collimator type (I think that is what it is called), requires that the sighting device be placed at the muzzle end. When looked at through the scope, this provides a sighting grid.

Benefits: Can easily be used in the field as no sighting target is required. Zeroed scope can be verified and repeated due to the sighting grid.

Drawbacks: Requires that sighting assembly be at same height as scope. AR15 carry handle mounted or other high mount scopes require the purchase of a offset device.

Dave R

Sawbones, if you are talking about a bolt-action rifle, the following works with no equipment whatsoever. If you are already familiar with this, I apologize for stating the obvious.

1. Get the rifle real steady on lots of sandbags or equivalent.
2. Remove the bolt so you can look right through the bore.