Anybody else thinkin RL-17 is the new "do all" powder?

Doyle

We worked up some loads for my short barreled (18.5") .260 using RL-17 and Hornady 129grn SPs. Playing with Quickload, this combination gave the best theoretical results. Since I was already invested in this powder, I started playing with Quickload to see what other calibers I could use it for. To my surprise, it seems to be the most "universal" powder I have ever seen. Quickload shows it to be an ideal powder for everything from my 7mm-08 15" Encore pistol barrel to a 24" 30-06 to even a 24" .35 Whelen. The one thing I did notice was that RL-17 seems to work best when the bullet choice for that particular caliber was towards the heavy side of the range (fine with me - I like the better BC anyway). I tried substituting other powders that people have reported as their "pet loads" and Quickload showed RL-17 being equal or superior in almost every instance.

Of course, Quickload data is based on math. I'd love to hear from people who have actually used it at the range to see what it really does.

PawPaw

Reloder 17 is supposed to have the same burn speed and powder density as H4350, another very versatile powder. I've never used either powder, but my wife's sister shoots a custom .260 based on a Remington 700 action. Her husband did the work-up and got better consistency with H4350, but that's in her rifle with her barrel. She's shooting a 120 grain Nosler BT at about 2950 fps and has very good luck with that rifle and load.

I'm sure that RL17 is a fine powder. I use 15 in the .308 and 19 in the .30-06 with excellent results.

Doodlebugger45