Another range in SE FL bites the dust....at least for a while

Waterengineer

I am posting this item here because I no rights to post to the Law and Civil Rights section (which I think is kind of ironic.)

Another SE Florida range gets shut down. Martin County officials are playing politics in my viewpoint.

Read here: http://www.tcpalm.com/news/2008/oct/17/fox-brown-road-hunting-camp-shooting-range-must-sh/

As an open letter to the range owner:

Sir:

As a Professional Civil Engineer I will donate up to 80 hours of otherwise billable time to help you get your needed permits and zoning from Martin County. We need this range in South East Florida. Besides you were there first before the houses.

Please contact me and let me know how to help.

Sincerely,

Craig C. Houdeshell, PE
561-568-1849

If anyone knows the owner of the range please let me know.

Thanks.

Ruger4570

It happened to the Tucson Rod and Gun Club a couple of years ago. When I first was a member it was out in the middle of NOWHERE. Little by little homes came closer, then a school then the hikers, all complaining about the noise. Well the club is long gone, now people just go off in the desert and shoot. Too bad as there is no control of their shots, but what can shooters do when the bunny huggers and tree squeezers get THEIR way.
I always encourage any club to buy ALL the land around them that they can, find ways to generate money to purchase all the surrounding property because Sooner or Later, there will be complaints about the noise or impact area, anything the "environmental" idgits can think of to close them down. It has happened before and it will happen many time in the future.

Waterengineer

Something smells fishy? Yep.

The snowbird northeasterners and other transplants don't like guns and don't understand living in the country