Another bad set of rings

warbirdlover

First of all I've been playing with guns and mounting scopes for over 40 years and never had a problem until this year. Always careful, use loktite etc etc. Have the gauges to make sure the rings are alligned etc etc.

A year ago after buying a new scope for my Ruger 77 I bought a set of Millett Ruger 77 rings (I needed "high" to clear the 50mm bell) and they "tilted" when tightened and dented my scope.

Then I recently bought a set of Redfield Ruger rings and had them on and one of the rear base "star" screw heads popped off and I lost the clamp. I don't overtorque scope mount screws. I've never had one break before. Being a retired metallurgist the surface of the break looks like these screws were made in China.... seriously. They are not quality screws.

I'm now ordering some Leupold rings.

5RWill

Man i know the feeling, hate crappy rings. Also can't stand the star screws, i've had to take some bases off a couple of old hunting rifles and the star points just strip too easily, verses an allen key. Ended up having to let my gunsmith tap it with a drill. Other than my sako i've gone to picatanny rails for everything, most picatanny rings are pretty decent, have some 15$ weavers that i got to use on an AR until i get my 30mm rings for a mk4. Was your scope still able to function properly with a dent in the main tube? That would be a worse case scenario IMO rings damaging a scope and all.

arizona98tj

First of all I've been playing with guns and mounting scopes for over 40 years and never had a problem until this year. Always careful, use loktite etc etc. Have the gauges to make sure the rings are alligned etc etc.

A year ago after buying a new scope for my Ruger 77 I bought a set of Millett Ruger 77 rings (I needed "high" to clear the 50mm bell) and they "tilted" when tightened and dented my scope.

Sorry to hear of the problem you had. It is never fun to have a project go south.