Annealing White Paper - Provided by Starline

markr6754

Gents, I hope this is helpful to some of you. I found it to provide the answers that I needed, but I'm also pretty new to this environment.

I asked Starline for guidance on using their Basic Grendel Brass to be form 6mm ARC. My follow-up question was answered. The included file is attached.

Mark,

Here is a great article on annealing. I would suggest trying to only go a 1/4"-3/8" below where the shoulder will be when annealing for 6mm ARC. The ARC has very little body taper so it doesn't need too much below the shoulder.

Regards,

Hunter Pilant
Process Manager
Chief Ballistician
hunter@starlinebrass.com

Starline Inc.
1300 W. Henry Street
Sedalia, MO 65301
800-280-6660
660-827-6640
www.facebook.com/StarlineBrass

Attachments

• Annealing info by Ken Light.pdf
    1.3 MB · Views: 85
It is an interesting article but misses a few points. One is that the harder brass is, the faster it anneals. 90% hard brass exposed to the same annealing temperature as 50% hard brass will recrystallize nearly ten times faster. Fortunately, brass's modulus of elasticity is constant for all hardness levels and degrees of annealing. So while we don't want to under or over-anneal, there is a surprisingly large range of annealing completeness over which we will get the same apparent performance as long as the interference fit between the resized neck and the bullet being seated is the same. Note that because harder brass is more springy than anneal brass, this has to be checked.

Second, recrystallization and grain growth you can see on etched brass with an optical microscope, are not the only stages of annealing. Before the brass heat exposure reaches those stages, it undergoes recovery, which relieves stresses on an atomic level, and which restores some malleability and is thus enough to prevent neck splits. Recovery, being at the atomic level, is not visible in an optical microscope and has to be "seen" by x-ray diffraction.