Ammo misfire, whatya do?

texdawg

I am just beginning to get into handguns and have run through a few thousand rounds at the range this year, but I guess I still have alot to learn about shooting and handling handguns. I had a situation occur that I have never experienced and I did not know exactly what to do. I had a cartridge misfire, as in the primer was struck but it did not discharge. What is your next move in this sutuation? Can the cartridge have a delayed discharge? How do you safely handle the cartridge?

Odd Job

I was instructed to keep the weapon pointed at the target, downrange for at least 5 seconds and then perform the following (while pointed in a safe direction):

1) Mag out
2) Rack slide

then:

3) Retrieve cartridge
4) Check for normal firing pin impression
5) If the impression is light or otherwise abnormal, remove slide and check firing pin assembly for damage
6) If firing pin impression is normal, try a new cartridge from the same box

I was told NOT to try to fire the same 'dud' centerfire cartridge again (although I have done this with .22 rimfires where I can load the cartridge into the mag so that the firing pin will not strike the same area on the rim as before. But technically, I suspect many here would say we shouldn't even do that.

givo08

I believe it can have a slight delay on firing (i.e. 1-2 seconds), not long. Wait about 30 secs with the weapon pointed down range just to be safe, then drop the mag, pull the slide back open. Examine the back of the round to see if the primer has been struck. Compare it to other spent cases. If the strike looks light or at an angle, then the gun has a problem. If it is the same as the spent casings then it is an ammo related failur.

Lurper