Ambidextrous 1911 Advice??

So my dad and I are in the Market for a full size Ambidextrous 1911 in .45acp... I'm a total handgun noob so please forgive my ignorance.... Open to stainless and blued guns, maybe parkerized.... Not big on exotic metals... It must be something that is availiable in California.. Please save the California jokes, I'm getting out soon:D:D Thanks for the help!!!

Last edited:

fivepaknh

I'm a lefty and very happy with my stainless Taurus PT1911. I know a lot of people have had problems with one Taurus model or another, but this gun has given me no troubles.

CDH

I'm not normally a negative type poster, but I have to say that I'm not a fan of ambi-safeties for carrying.

For a range gun, no problem, but a scenario of having to fire with your off hand is a fantasy Rambo situation.
In the real world, you'll draw and fire with your strong hand 100% of the time.
And that means that 100% of the time, you'll have an extra stick-outy thing that is un-needed and just makes the pistol harder to conceal.

I've got both a standard stainless Commander and a Lightweight XSE Commander (w/ambi-safety), and even though the stainless is heavier, I prefer it to the XSE as a carry pistol, mainly because of it's trimmer garb due to the standard safety.

I know. That surprised me too. ;)

FALPhil

I am kind of ambivalent about ambi safeties on a 1911, but I have them on two of mine.

I practice weak hand drills every range session, and I find that ambi safeties come in handy.

I will only use the King's ambi safety. It replaces the hammer axle with one that has a dovetail that fits in a corresponding groove on the right lever. It does not require the right grip panel to be attached to the grip in order to retain the right lever, like most 1911 ambi safeties.

I also trim down the width of the levers on both sides, and more on the right than on the left. That way, the aggregate width of the pistol remains relatively small.

Last edited:

Icopy1