"Always" gun--J frame or Taurus?

glockopop

I'll be moving to a more carry friendly area soon, and I've been considering my options. This is all new to me, as all my guns are better suited to the range. Regardless of what I decide to do, I'll probably have a small revolver in a pocket holster at all time, either with or without a primary carry.

I'd like a S&W 642, but I've had some bad experiences with newer Smiths and if I get one it will be as old as possible. This is a problem. This requires me to put in a lot of time and effort into tracking down the exact gun I want. Or I could just get a Taurus M850 that's readily available virtually anywhere and pretty cheap to boot.

I have an S&W M14 that I love, and a 3-inch M64 on layaway. They were both about as cheap as a new Taurus would be, but I also had to keep an eye out for them for over a year, especially the 3-inch.

I know this is one of those insufferable "apples vs. oranges" threads, but if we could keep it practical and just let me know if there's any reason why I shouldn't just get a Taurus.

omegapd

I can't help you out much on the Taurus. I had a plain jane 85 years ago and it was okay, but just wasn't what I wanted and was traded off...

I will say that the 3 inch K frames are my personal favorite carry pieces. Get that bad boy out of lay-away and try carrying it around some and you might not want the J frame. I carry a model 65 IWB with a Clip Draw and you can't see a thing under just a T-shirt.

Let us know what you wind up doing...

EW

Stainz