A test period/method for CCW revolvers before considering them "reliable" for CCW?

Doug S

I'm relatively new to the revolver as my primary CCW. Although the numbers vary somewhat, most everyone has read or heard some standard for shooting your CCW semi-auto with a certain amount of your selected defensive ammo without malfunction, before considering the gun reliable enough for CCW. What I've not noticed is a similar statement for revolvers. Do most people consider revolvers to be so reliable as for this to be a non-issue? Just fire it at the range to make sure its working, and then put it in your holster? Do any of you have a standard test period, before you consider a revolver "reliable" enough for CCW? If so, what is it? Why is it that you just don't see this information being put forth in regard to revolvers, but you can't help but to read something to this effect about semi-autos in virtually every book/magazine you pick up?

I'll be honest, I picked up a used pre lock 642 a couple of weeks ago. It is in nice shape. I put a little less than 100 rounds though it, and began carrying it. My new Ruger SP101, had about 300 rounds through it before I started carrying it.

In contrast I always have put about 500 rounds with 100 to 200 of those being my chosen defensive load through my semi-autos before being comfortable enough to carry one for CCW.

Tamara

Moderator Emeritus
From a reliability standpoint...

Generally, if it's lighting primers and shooting to point of aim, it's good to go.

With autos you need to be more certain of things like feed reliability and whether or not the round has enough energy to cycle the action under any possible condition (ie. Will your carry load cycle your auto reliably when held loosely in your weak hand?)

Doug S