A S&W Model 28 question...

ATW525

I picked up a Model 28 with a 6" tube a little while back, and I was curious as to approximately how old it is. It's been refinished (horribly so, too) so it's no looker, but it's mechanically sound and has a beautiful single-action trigger. It's my first wheelgun and I'm no expert on the subject... I did however find what appears to be the serial number on the frame which reads 24400. There's no model number anywhere on the gun, just the ".357 CTG. HIGHWAY PATROLMAN" on the right side of the tube. So, are there any Smith experts that might be able to give a ballpark estimation as to the age of this piece?

boa2

Look on the butt(Very bottom)and report back here what the serial number reads in that location?

Where are you getting the "serial number" from?

S&W serial numbers are normally stamped on the bottom of the grip frame. You may have to remove the grips to read it.

5 digit numbers in a gun of this age are normally not the serial number, but the assembly floor number, which is used during manufacturing and has nothing to do with the serial number.

You may find the model number by opening the cylinder and looking in the flat area under the barrel. There's also a chance that the only number that's going to be there will be the assembly number.

If only the assembly number is there, then you have a gun that was made prior to about 1957, so it's a pretty early Highway Patrolman.

ATW525

okay, it appears what I thought was the serial number is really the assembly number. The serial numbwer is 1040XX with an S prefix. Below the assembly number I see a mark that could be an 8? There's also a number "1" above the assembly number and below the barrel, on the curved part of the frame along the line where the ejector rod would lay.

boa2

The serial number given of S1040xx, is shown as being made in 1954-1955, before the S&W model numbers were stamped! This would mean that you would have a pre-model 28, Highway Patrolman!