A question on 22 Mag in regards to how projectile functions

bedbugbilly

This is NOT a thread to start a debate on the pros/cons of carrying 22 caliber weapons for SD / CC. I have no experience with 22 Magnum so have a couple of questions in regards to the cartridge and how the projectile functions when used for hunting (and SD).

This past year, I've run across several fellows who carry 22 Mag for SD and they have expounded on it. Yea, yea, yea. Personally, I prefer 38 spl and 9 mm. My question is about the 22 Mag cartridge . . . or rather the projectile itself.

In a SD/hunting scenario . . i.e. when the bullet hits flesh, what does it do? Does it penetrate deeply and then expand/mushroom or does it start to mushroom/expand on impact? Is it normal when using for hunting for it to expand on impact, causing more tissue damage or does it have more of a tendency to penetrate deeply ? I'm thinking that the distance between the target and the weapon would also make a difference? If close range, would the bullet function the same or would there be the possibility of a "through shot". (I;m thinking of such varmints ass woodchucks, etc. - I've shot some with 22 LR and they've reacted like they just got a mosquito bite and kept on eating grass :) ).

I'm looking at getting a "combination" revolver (22 LR / 22 Mag cylinders). Other than varmints, it would pretty much be used for plinking, etc. but since I've only shot a 22 Mag once - which was 50 years ago - I thought it would be fun to have a different cartridge to shoot along with the LR and my 38s and 9mms). That's what got me to wondering how the projectile acts/functions on impact. Thanks for any information you can supply on it.

jason_iowa