A couple of HD Shotgun options -- Input?

DoItRight

To the Group -

I'm pretty experienced with handguns but I'm very new to shotguns -- zero experience besides what I've read online.

My wife and I live on several acres surrounded by other similar properties. Lately, there have been some reports of folks breaking into cars and such nearby. I really don't expect to have to use one but since my wife is often home alone, I figure better safe than sorry so I'm in the market for a shotgun. I am sold on a (pump) shotgun as the best available HD weapon but I'm not an expert. (FWIW, my wife is very experienced with handguns and has also handled and fired shotguns before)

That said, I have a $300 credit at a gun dealer and am looking at their stock. The only things they currently have available in an 18.5 inch barrel are:

Charles Daly Field Tactical -- $250 (Also available in black)
23.jpg

Mossberg 500 Special Purpose Persuader -- $295
25.jpg

Any thoughts one way or another on either of these?

Last edited:

Technosavant

Between them, I'd lean towards the Mossberg. Not that the CD isn't any good (I don't know one way or the other), but the 500 is a proven design and parts and accessories are very readily available. Not that you'll be tricking it out, but shoot anything enough and you'll be replacing something sooner or later. The greater the parts availability, the easier the search is, cheaper the part is, and shorter the wait to get it back in service.

hogdogs

Staff In Memoriam
The parts and pieces for a 500 will always be available even if china refuses to export to us as the 500 is American born, bred and MADE!:D