A carry gun for the 21st Century

Japle

Well, my idea of one, anyway.

Several months ago, I replaced the gen II Glock 19 I’ve been packing for the last 6 years with a new XDm 3.8 with the full-size frame. I stuck with the 9mm, but bumped the capacity to 20 rounds. The interchangeable backstraps and ambi mag release were other factors and, face it; I just wanted a new gun.

I’d mounted a JPoint red dot sight on my CZ75 SA for steel shooting and liked it, so I ordered one for the XDm. Then they quit making mounts for the XD. Turns out, the SIG mount is the same size, so I got one.

After two range sessions and ten days of daily carry, I have to say I’m really happy with this setup.
I can’t tell the difference in the holster. It feels exactly the same. I know it sticks out more than the standard rear sight, but I don’t notice it at all.
On the range, it’s like night and day. There’s no potential sight alignment error. The bullets go exactly where the dot was when the primer lit off.
With my CZ, it took some time to get used to the JPoint. I had to consciously point the gun lower to find the dot. On the XDm, it’s right there. No searching. When the gun comes up, the dot is instantly visible. I guess that means that, for me at least, the XDm is more of a “natural” pointer than the CZ and that’s really saying something.

According to what I’ve read, the battery is good for 6-12 months. I’ll replace it every 6 months, just to be on the safe side.

I know people will tell me I shouldn’t depend on anything that uses batteries on a carry gun, or it’ll be too fragile. Maybe so. But I’ve been carrying a gun every day since 1988 and have never had anything happen that might damage my gun. If it gets broken in a fistfight, I won’t be using the sights anyway.

We’ll see how it goes.
XDmJPointandammo.jpg

ClydeFrog

XDm pistols; NRA magazine...

The Springfield Armory XD pistols look great. I read over my issue of the NRA magazine with a XDm 3.8 9x19mm on the cover.