A bit over kill for varmits, but whatever.

brynotherhino

Ok, I have a couple of questions. The first is about ferrel hogs. What is a good round for these nasty critters? I have a Mini 14 and an older Ruger M77 chambered for a .270. Also, I have been considering retiring my M77 and getting a more modern gun. What would some of you folks recommend for a gun thats not terribly expensive, but not really cheap either.

bestbod85

get an ak in 7.62x39 and has a 30 round mag :D a decent one will cost 4-5 hundred but you could get a cheapie for 250-300 - saiga's run about that much and are actually pretty decent.

sholling

Well you could get qualified for the CMP. I'm far from an expert but a M1 should throughly ruin a hogs day.

brynotherhino

best bod, im looking for something that will double as a small game vaporizer as well. the 7.62/39 doesn't make prairie dogs and such go splat like i want them too. a good bud of mine has an ak and its a blast to shoot, but i really would prefer a bolt action.

Fat White Boy

Third to the .270. I have all one shot kills but one. If your Ruger shoots straight, keep it. Save your money for a dedicated varminter in .223 in a few months...

homefires

Every Man Needs a Shot Gun! 00) will do the job!:rolleyes:

While in Turkey It worked for me. That is all we was allowed to use. The Turks used B.P. and got the job done.

We hunted them in 4ft saw grass and you could smell them, hear them and only saw them within 5 ft. Scary ****.

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam
Lotsa guns equal to that Ruger, but none that are particularly better. Same for the .270 cartridge.

Don't let that stop you from getting a new toy, though. :D Just remember you're doing different, not necessarily better...

Art

brynotherhino

Thanks fellows. Also pertaining to the .223, im at a loss when it comes to different bullet grains and weights and all that. Im a sort of newbie when it comes to this stuff, i figured i should work on my shooting first. is that backwards?