9mm ball vs. 45ACP ball thread at glocktalk

Status
Not open for further replies.

glockdoc

Hey folks,

Here is an interesting thread over on glocktalk addressing a recent article by Ed Sanow. Before attacking the author (or me!) check out the thread or the original article in Gun World. Apparently Sanow asserts that 9mm ball flips end over end in gelatin while .45 ACP ball doesn't, so the 9mm dumps more energy. Even if energy doesn't matter, it's the size of the hole (as some believe), a 9mm bullet moving sideways must make a pretty big hole! Hey, don't flame me, I carry hollowpoints :) I just found the thread very thought provoking.

http://glocktalk.com/docs/gtubb/Forum15/HTML/001680.html

Frank

Dr45ACP

Sanow doesnt understand why people die after being shot.

I am a surgeon, have operated on many GSW victims.

No handgun, including 357, 9mm, etc, is a "high energy" or "high velocity" round. Energy and Velocity are more important when we are talking about rifle calibers. With respect to high powered rifles, a shock wave of energy does spread out at impact and devitalizes a large area of tissue by disrupting small blood vessels, etc. The effects of this, however, may not be immediately obvious to the eye, though it will help to incapacitate the victim.

Handguns are low energy, low velocity weapons. They do not have this effect. The primary determinants of their lethality is shot placement and the size of the defect they create.

The cross sectional area of a 45 cal bullet is about 50% larger than for a 38 cal bullet, and therefore 50% more blood will be lost over a certain time. Or a 50% larger hole will be made in a criminals brain, heart, lung, etc.

My experience has been that people with large holes shot through them are more likely to die than those who have small holes. Big holes are harder to fix. More tisse is destroyed.