9mm 124gr Berry's plated bullets?

Xfire68

This is my first time loading these rounds and well I guess to me they just look a bit odd?

I loaded them with 5.4gr of AA#5 and the OAL is set at 1.142. I am attaching a picture so you can compare the 90gr Horandy XTP rounds next to them. I know the the 90's are a different and smaller bullet I just wanted to be sure that my measurements are correct and it's a safe load to fire?

Last edited:

howlnmad

Stop what you're doing. Those Berrys look like they're barely seated. What manual did you get your information from. You can't use the same load data for different weight bullets. Go back and read, read and re-read.

Xfire68

They are seated very well and this is why I had this question. I am not using the same data for both loads. I was just surprised in the way these rounds looked at the seating/OAL data used.

I am using Lymans 49th and Lee's for data. Lee's says for copper plated 124gr bullets the min OAL should be 1.142 which is what these are.

As you can see they don't look right to you either! :eek:

Here is a pic with a loaded round and the bullet side by side.
100_3544.jpg

100_3543.jpg

Mtn Biker

Those wont chamber seated like that. The shape of the bullet has a lot to do with the seating depth. Those have a long ogive (that is the straight part of the bullet on the sides) and with them that far out the bullet will jam into the rifling before the case can headspace off the rim. Those shaped bullets normally are seated a lot farther into the case so they function correctly. That means you might have to back off the charge amount to keep pressures in spec.

VL

Xfire68

Thanks for the info. I have not tried any of these loads yet and as you can see for good reasons.

The OAL is still under the maximum of 1.169 which is why I "thought" I was still heading down the right track with these loads but after seeing how they looked I was in doubt that these loads were even safe to fire let alone chamber.