9mm 115gr FMJ W231

QBall45

I'm about to start a new venture. I've been loading 45ACP and 223 for almost 2 years now and now its time to look at 9mm.

I know the advice about load manuals and mfgr websites. Been there. I've now got my basic start load info etc.

Here's what I'm thinking.
115gr FMJ
4.1gr-4.7gr W231
1.169 max OaL

Crimp measurement?

Looking for lnsight as to the 9's sweet spot with w231. I know that I'll start low and work up.

This is for a S&W with a 3-4 inch barrel. Maybe also a 92fs.

rc

9mm is easy to reload, but know that you max load is lower than the older max of something like 5 grains. Maybe the difference between old 231 and HP38 that are now the "same". 231 does work fine as does Universal Clays for that bullet weight and caliber. It's not as broud a powder as 231 but works fantastic in 9mm and 40 at about 35000psi. 5 grains of Universal with 115 win JHP gave me between 1150 and 1200fps with standard deviations from 7 to 20.

Another thing I noticed about what you wrote is your planning to load to max overall length. This tends to bind in magazines and cause jams. If you look at factory loads cheap 115grain 9mm ball is often loaded as short as 1.135 or so. If you go much past 1.155 you may have problems. Check a factory round and use that to set your dies for crimp and overall length. Then your first loads should work like a champ. rc

Ozzieman

I agree with rc on your COL, several of my manuals show for FMJ 124 GR a COL of 1.100.
I use the Hornady 115 XTP and my pet is a light 4.4 of W231. I don’t have a crono so I don’t have a FPS but it’s rated at a little over 1000 fps.
Its clean, works well in my Glock 26 and including my Beretta Cougar and a Storm Carbine. With that load the brass last a long time and its cheep. Best of all, of the thousands that I have loaded with that same load I have never had a failure to function in any those guns.