7mm Mag vs. 308

Dave3006

I want to get a versatile rifle that I hunt with and shoot long distance (600 yards) matches. I have narrowed things down to a PSS in .308 or a Sendero in 7mm Mag. I am relatively new to bolt action rifles. Can anyone give me the pro's and con's of the two rounds?

- I don't reload. So, I think the 7mm would be pretty expensive.

Dave R

Yup. One advantage to the .308 is the availability of cheap surplus ammo, i.e. $3.99 per box British stuff from the 80's at Cheaper Than Dirt.

From reading past TFL threads, it appears that a lot of sniper units use the .308.

I'm not familiar with 7mm Mag, but I'm sure some fans will be posting here shortly.

orsogato

If you want versatility get a .308 PSS. That should be able to do all kinds of neat tricks.

If you are not a handloader, forget the 7mm mag.

I like my 7mm mag, but it has a little niche in the realm of my entire shooting life. For the all around rifle go .308

CD1

I hunt with a 7MM Mag and it is great. I picked the 7 Mag b/c I needed a gun to hunt anything from whitetail to elk. It will do the trick. I dont target shoot (competition) with it but it has a flatter trajectory that the 308. Make sure you look into the trajectory/performance of both rounds before you decide. I can vouch for the fact that as a hunting round it is as good as ANY round out there. We could spend a lifetime listening to people argue the BEST deer gun, but why bother. Its great on game, find out how it will do at 600yds VS the 308 and you have your answer.

rr41mag

I own a 7mm mag but I handload and it's mainly for hunting. In your case I would get the .308 without a doubt because of the avalability of ammo. If you do decide to start reloading brass can be had for pretty cheap too.

------------------
A son is the best friend you'll ever have!

Mic