7 vs 8 rd 1911 magazines

Marquezj16

I'm new to 1911s. I was looking up spare mags for my SA 1911 Milspec and I noticed the different rd capacity. My factory mag is 7 rd and I was looking at some mags that has 8 rd cap. If I buy the 8 rd cap mags, will it stick out the bottom a little. I know it's probably a dumb question but I'd rather ask than make a dumb mistake. Thanks in advance.

scottl

Marquezj16 did you get a coupon from Springfield with it?If so you cannot hardly beat the pricing on it for magazines.
It looks like this.

Attachments

• coupon.jpg
    coupon.jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 36

Marquezj16

Thanks Mike for the link.

Scott, thank you, thank you and thank you.

The coupon was behind the foam, so I did not see it. Looks like I will be ordering from SA. :)

scottl

Some of people knock the Springfield mags.But if you read the Springfield section on the 1911 forum a lot of people use them and have no trouble with them.

overkill0084

I've had good luck with Wilson 8 rounders. The SA 7 rd mags are very good in my experience.
The ones with the little rubber foot might stick out slightly. Without it, they should be flush.

Kreyzhorse

If I buy the 8 rd cap mags, will it stick out the bottom a little.

No. It should still be flush. I own a Springfield TRP and aren't a big fan of the factory mags although they seem to work fine.

I used mostly Chip McCormick Powermags and Shooting Stars and both of them are reliable and very well made.

44 AMP

Staff
The original design is a 7rnd magazine. This was all there was for around 60 some years (other than a few extra length mags). Then some bright folks redesigned the magazine follower, and found that they could get 8rnds in the same space.

Factories eventually picked this up, and so you can find both 7 and 8 round mags as factory standard, depending on the model and maker. There is also a short 6rnd made for the ultra compact guns like the Officer's Model.

Chris_B