7.62x39 loads

tim

I'm new to reloading and i'm about to buy my 1st batch of powder,brass and bullets. I think i'll go with primed winchester brass, but i'm lost when it comes to powder.looking at my reloading handbooks there are several to choose from. Do I buy them all or what?
thanks for all replies.

Contender

Tim, Being that you're new to reloading to begin with, see if you can get together with an experienced reloader/shooter at your local range/gun club. As mentioned here by one of the other gentlemen on this forum, there is no substitute for benefitting from another's experience on this subject first hand. Get yourself at least 2 reloading manuals, prefferably 1 of them from a powder manufacturer. Familiarize yourself thoroughly with all the procedures. No, it's not necessary to aquire every powder named in the data. You can choose one or two of the powders listed giving top velocities with the bullet weight you are going to use, AS A STARTING POINT FOR TRIALS. Just remember, ALWAYS start with the starting loads listed in the data. Follow the data exactly with respect to charge wieghts. Stay at the starting loads until you gain confidence in your ability. NEVER EXCEED THE MAXIMUM LISTED LOADS. Hang back here a bit and you should be getting some more advice by some very knowledgable people.

Take Care

Walt Welch

Tim; the best thing to do in a situation such as yours is to stick with the same brand of components all the way. This is because this is what is generally what is used by the testers who develop the data.

So, my first choice would be a Winchester powder, especially since there is a wonderful powder, 748, that seems to work well in this cartridge capacity range. So, go to Shooter's Gunlinks, at:
http://www.shooters.com/gunlinks/index.htm
click on 'product manufacturers-non firearm,' and download the Winchester Reloading Manual. Check under 7.62 x 39. DAMN! Nothing there.