7.62x39 AR build

smee78

Hey everyone

I'm building a 7.62x39 ARand wanted to see if anyone else out there has one and what there experience with them have been. I will be running a 16" barrel with a carbine gas system and will be putting a scope on it. I'm aware that mags can be somewhat of a problem and I have heard of a few bolts breaking but I'm not to worried about that. I have 2 of the ASC 10 rounders and 2 Frankenmags so that shoud help with that problem. I mainly wanted to use this setup for hunting so anyone out there with info please pass it on.

doofus47

I have a bushmaster M4/A3 upper that has been mated to both a CavArms lower and a Palmetto State Armory lower. Neither has had an issue with extraction. Feeding is the usual point of pain.

+The mag issue is a common sticking point. I bought extra power springs from Wolff.
+If you plan on shooting lots of steel-cased ammo, you will need to mod your firing pin to allow for a few thousands (.003 to .007) more extension to set off the steel-cased primers. Various companies also sell 7.62x39 specific bolt/firing pin combos. Buy a couple solutions; you might lose an extractor along the way.
+Make sure that whatever upper you get has generous feed ramps.
+I I have a Burris FastFire 3 reflex scope on my upper. It co-witnesses with my fixed A2 sight. The sight height is standard. I'm sure that other red dots would work equally well.

Fun stuff. Tell us how it works out.

smee78

Thanks Doofus47 for the info, I was afraid that after 200 views that no one was going to share any info. The barrel and upper I am using both have M4 feed ramps so I should be good there, Have you had to do any mods to get your running? I will be reloading so I will mostly be shooting brass ammo so I hope that fixes any FP problems. I will keep thing updated as this build goes on.

doofus47

I didn't have to do anything dramatic.