6br help needed......

Glenner

My buddy got a used 6BR on a Remington Action.
I've done some reloading, but I'm no expert.
We loaded some rounds, but I'm confused by a few things.
1. We bumped the shoulder, but the rounds still chamber tight.
2. The Redding Full Length Die seems to size the neck too small, the inner neck diameter is .233'' after sizing.

These pictures show the inner and outer measurements of the neck AFTER the case has been fired. We did not turn the necks.
Are the normal dimensions for a 6BR fired case?
Is this just a real tight chamber?
Was this chamber cut in a way that requires neck turning?
P1090132.jpg

P1090130.jpg

impalacustom

A .272 is a no turn neck for a 6BR. It looks like you are going to be buying some neck turning tools, or deal with a slightly tight neck. Savage made some prefit barrels with .271 chambers that will read .270 when fired. What bullets are you using? Sometimes this will make a slight difference in tight necks.

Is this a custom chamber? If so your best bet would be to get a hold of the guy who did the work and try to get the reamer measurements. Or get a cast of the chamber with some cerrosafe and that way you know exactly the measurements and what to neck your brass down to.

You want to try to keep your loaded neck about .002 smaller than your fired neck on your cartridge.

Last edited:

Glenner

It is a custom chamber/barrel.
We're using Sierra Match Kings, 70Gr., it's a 1:12 twist barrel.

Thanks!

fprefect

6mm BR

Throats for barrels chambered for cartridges such as the Rem 22 or 6mm BR or the 22 and 6mm PPC will usually have slightly tighter throats than found in most hunting rifles. If you have the specs for the throat diameter of your barrel it should be simply to see if the problem is coming from thickening of the brass in the neck after several firings.