6.5 PRC Difficulty Chambering - Nosler Model 21

jackstrawIII

Hey guys,

I've been loading for like 10 years and thought I had a good idea what I was doing... but I have a rifle that's causing unsolvable frustration.

It's a Nosler Model 21 in 6.5 PRC and I don't know if the chamber is too tight on it or if there's another issue in my setup, but I'm having a heck of a time with loads being very hard to chamber and very hard to extract.

Can you give me some sort of checklist of things I can evaluate to figure out what the problem is?

Ps. I'm reloading Hornady brass and no, I have not tried a factory round in the gun. Even if I could find them locally, I haven't bought factory ammo in years and I can't stomach the thought of it.

PPs. I've tried H1000 and Retumbo powders. The bullets have been 129 grain SSTs and 118 grain CBB MKZ (copper). I tried different combos because I wasn't sure if I was overfilling the cases causing them to bulge or something, but I don't think that's the problem.

olduser

First thing I would check is to see if your OAL is too long and is jamming bullets in the throat. If you can load and extract a round you should carefully examine the bullet for rifling marks.

scatterbrain

If I was faced with that I would resize a case, trim to correct length, mark with a marker and put it in, see where it hits. You could be over length, or have not set the shoulder back enough, and you may be over sized on the neck. If the chamber is tight you will see it on the marks. I have a 280 Rem that will not load factory cartridges, has a custom barrel. All reloads work fine.

stagpanther